My experience of the MSc Audiology course as an international student

Lin Wu was the first Chinese student to take the MSc Audiology course at Manchester. Since then, more students from China have applied to the course. Here, she talks about her experience of the MSc and her current role at Cochlear.

Why I chose audiology

In 2018, I obtained my bachelor’s degree in Hearing and Speech Rehabilitation in China. During my undergraduate study, I clearly felt that I had a stronger interest in audiology. Faced with the choice of working or continuing education, I chose further education to help me decide if audiology was for me.

In my country, audiology education and related industries are still in a developing stage, and clinical services, education and research is still being explored. I was eager to study in a country and institution with a relatively mature development of audiology to help me better understand this industry and explore how to make my own contribution to the development of audiology in my country.

When I was choosing a university, I was very lucky to have an interview with Dr Kai Uus, which confirmed my determination to study at The University of Manchester. She introduced me to the education, training and research happening in audiology at Manchester. Her professionalism and friendliness also attracted me to the University.

Eventually, I was very lucky to become the first Chinese student on the MSc Audiology course at Manchester.

Studying audiology at Manchester

The course was undoubtedly an enjoyable experience. The theoretical course units helped me to learn more deeply and build on what I learned about audiology at undergraduate level. In addition to the theory course units, the MSc offered practical courses that match the theory.

To better understand and master both the theory and practical elements, we also had the opportunity to practise in a hospital ear, nose and throat department. I learned about local hearing services and developed the skills and empathy to communicate with and treat patients.

Before starting at Manchester, I was very worried that my English wasn’t good enough for the course, which would have affected my learning experience. But when I started the course, I found that the teaching team had taken this into account and they actively introduced me to resources at Manchester that could help me improve my English.

The teaching team repeatedly confirmed my mastery of both theoretical knowledge and practical elements in class. I was deeply impressed and touched by their carefulness and patience.

What I’m doing now

At present, I am working for hearing device company Cochlear in clinical technical support. I am responsible for helping doctors and patients solve clinical problems related to cochlear implants, and for carrying out scientific research into cochlear implants and audiology.

I am enjoying my work. On the one hand, it allows me to communicate directly with patients to help them solve their hearing problems and, on the other hand, it allows me to continue some scientific research to explore the mysteries of audiology.

I was able to get such a satisfying job because of the MSc. During my studies, I shadowed a tutor, Dr Karolina Kluk, to conduct a study on cochlear dead regions, and thus gained relevant experience and knowledge about the cochlea, which undoubtedly helped me establish an advantage when applying for jobs.

As for the future, I hope to help my country better develop the audiology industry while constantly improving myself, so that more people will no longer be troubled by hearing problems. I am very sure that I love audiology, and I may continue to study and research more deeply in the future, or accept other interdisciplinary education – but no matter which path I choose, I will stick to the audiology industry.

Audiology is an interesting and special major. In addition to professionalism and passion, an audiologist needs a great sense of responsibility. Every patient is a responsibility for the audiologist, and every piece of advice they dispense will become key to solving the hearing problems of patients, helping them live a more comfortable life. This sense of responsibility ultimately becomes a sense of accomplishment that will last us a lifetime.

The University of Manchester allows many cultures and ideas to coexist. Here you can meet different people, experience different cultures and hear different ideas, which is very rare. At Manchester, as long as you keep your curiosity for knowledge and are motivated to fulfil your dreams, the teaching team will do their best to help you.

In the process of constantly exploring yourself and your profession, you can find a more suitable development path for yourself.

Learn more about studying audiology at Manchester.


Leave a comment