FBMH Stories: Lauren Dearnley

As part of our #FBMHStories feature for Instagram, we chatted to Lauren, a second year Adult Nursing (BNurs) student. She gave her predictions about the future of nursing, and shed some light on the realities of the profession…

DSC_2535.JPG

How did you feel on your first day at the University?

I felt really nervous and worried on my first day and didn’t know what to expect.  The lecture theatres were so different in comparison to the small classes I was used to at school. I had moved into halls of residence at the weekend and had met a few girls from the course so I sat with them which put me at ease.

IMG_1987 copy.jpg

Why nursing and why Manchester?

I decided to choose nursing because I wanted to spend my career impacting on other people’s lives and really making a difference to the care they receive. Not only is nursing such a rewarding profession, there is such a wide range of unique opportunities and various working environments.

The nursing course at Manchester is recognised as one of the best in the world and I had always dreamed of studying here, so when I received my offer I was delighted.

DSC_2545

What did you think of the Manchester lifestyle?

I absolutely love living in Manchester. There is such much to see and do! There are still loads of places now that I haven’t had chance to go to yet. I love going out in Manchester too because you can have such a good cheap night out or there are plenty of classy cocktail bars too!

What is the most challenging thing about nursing so far?

The work/life balance is sometimes really hard to manage. Being on placement and having assignments to write can be a challenge. It is also important to remember to take time for yourself. Keeping on top of things but enjoying your time as a student is really important in my eyes.

DSC_2548

What has been the most rewarding?

The most rewarding thing for me is seeing a patient smile, or just a ‘thank you’. It’s the small things that have the most impact and significance.

Do you think you have grown as a person?

I would definitely say so, yes! Nursing really changes your outlook on life. It has allowed me to really appreciate my family and friends and the importance of a good supportive network.

It also makes you more aware of the fact that everyone has a different life story or background. It is important to understand this and be non-judgemental.

DSC_2569

What do you see the future of nursing being like?

I think nursing has come a long way over the years and with all the current advances and research projects it will be a totally different ball game… I am excited to be a part of it!

What advice would you give anyone that is considering applying for nursing?

Talk to people and ask about their experiences of nursing. If possible try and get some experience working with people in a hospital or community setting, which then will give you a feel for whether nursing will suit you.  If it’s what you really want to do, go for it and don’t give up!!

What is your favourite thing to do in Manchester?

I like to go out with the girls, so many nice cocktail bars and good food places in the Northern Quarter. I like to just go out on a weekend have a few drinks and a chill, maybe do a little bit of shopping if I have any money left ha!

Find out more about studying Nursing at The University of Manchester.


One thought on “FBMH Stories: Lauren Dearnley

Leave a comment