Looking back on my time as a Children’s Nursing student

Third-year BNurs Children’s Nursing student Wise looks back on her time on the course so far, and shares some of her favourite (and least favourite) moments.

Wise in nurse tunic

It seems like only yesterday that I made the decision to accept my offer to study Nursing at Manchester. In reality, it has been nearly three years!

Three years, six placements and multiple grey hairs later I’m here at the last hurdle. With only my final placement and dissertation left, (definitely not procrastinating) now seems like the right time to recap my journey so far!

First year

Without a doubt, first year has been my personal favourite. That feeling of excitement mixed with optimism, the joy of meeting new people, forming new relationships and experiencing new things. There’s truly nothing quite like being a fresher. As a ‘mature student’ (I was turning 21) first year was the most amount of fun I’ve had.

That’s not to say that first year was all ups with no downs. The jump from A-levels to degree seemed astronomical at first. Trying to write my first piece of academic work seemed impossible and deciding between being a serious student or a party animal proved tough.

Overall, I think what I loved most about my first year was the grace you were shown both on placement and in university – you’re just a baby! Yes you are expected to try your hardest and do well, but you’re also at the start of the journey and learning that you aren’t expected to know it all right away.

The University really prioritises peer support and as a first year, you will have Peer Assisted Study Sessions (PASS) which are sessions facilitated by nursing students in the years above. I cannot stress enough how great PASS is. Just spending time talking and connecting with someone who has been exactly where you are now is so comforting!  

Second year 

Wise stood on street in Manchester's Northern Quarter

For me, the second year was my least favourite. It’s not that I hated the year, but I just felt like I was in limbo for the majority of this period. I was no longer a baby student, but I also wasn’t a third-year. It felt like all of a sudden there was an increase in intensity, and an expectation (in both placement and university) to keep up, whilst also being told it was okay if I was a bit behind.

I think I just struggled to find my feet and, as a lot of people do, suffered from second-year blues. The excitement of the first year had gone but I didn’t have that eagerness and ‘light at the end of the tunnel’ feeling so felt stuck. The increase in intensity accompanied by a decrease in self-confidence was a recipe for disaster, and it took a while to get out of the slump. But, thanks to the amazing community of other student nurses around me, I eventually managed to get back on track!

When you become a nursing student you are instantly welcomed into a wholesome community, a shared collective of other people who you can relate to and lean on for support. We spend so much of our time together, in university and on placement, so we get to know each other really well and that has definitely been my favourite part of this degree. 

Final year

Seven months into my final year, and although I find it scary to think about my future career path, where I want to work and the job application process, I’m honestly doing great. I feel confident and prepared. All of the lectures, clinical skills workshops and placements have more than equipped me to be where I am right now. I’m just taking it one day at a time and appreciating every day for what it is, before the journey comes to an end.

Find out more about studying Nursing at The University of Manchester:


Leave a comment