How a passion for health psychology informed my career choices

Rupy Kaur is a BSc Psychology graduate. In this blog post Rupy reflects on how an interest in health psychology led to a career she loves.

Rupy Kaur

I completed my psychology degree at The University of Manchester back in 2008. I remember during my studies we had a module covering Health Psychology and I knew then that I wanted to pursue this further.

However, during my time at university I became heavily involved with the Student’s Union and before I knew it, I became elected as the National Disabled Students Officer for the National Union of Students. 

Career choices

I spent a number of years in London, campaigning on disabled people’s rights. I thought I was going to plant my roots in London but then a family member got seriously ill and I decided to come back to Manchester.

When re-analysing my career choices, I remembered my passion in health psychology. I then applied to do my master’s, then subsequent doctorate in Health Psychology at Liverpool John Moores University.

What I love about my job

I’m approaching the end of my doctorate but as a Health Psychologist in Training, I work for a Tier 3 Adult Weight Management Service as a Psychology Support Lead.

I love my job, and there is no standard day for me. I assist people living with obesity adopt healthy habits to manage their weight. I also assess whether clients are ready to take part in our psycho-educational programme through conducting mental health assessments.

Furthermore, I provide psychological training to the team to ensure that they are delivering support to clients at a high standard. I also support the team through facilitating peer support by conducting Clinical Supervision.

My favourite part of the role

My favourite part of the role is when a client has that lightbulb moment – when people become motivated to make that change that will help them in the rest of their lives. 

Regarding emotional toll, I try to have a boundary between home and work and being with loved ones and doing something you enjoy to switch off from work.

Opportunities

Although I enjoy weight management, a passion I would like to explore further is disability and healthcare. 

I’m forever grateful for my experience at The University of Manchester. My experience was so much more than education. I learned how to apply knowledge in the real world and that’s how I now conduct myself as a health professional.

Learn more about studying Psychology at The University of Manchester:


Leave a comment