How studying Psychology has opened many doors for me

Mursheda Ahmed, a BSc Psychology student, reflects on the opportunities that studying this subject presents.

Studying Psychology at The University of Manchester has opened many doors for me. The options of careers one can pursue vary dramatically, and the choice is not just black and white.

Mursheda Ahmed

As students at Manchester, we have been given insight into several fields of psychology. Year 1 included an introduction to some of these fields, helping students get a feel for the fundamental units upon which the subject is built upon.

Year 2 allowed us to have a deeper understanding of the various components within each field. We were introduced to some of the most prominent works of several renowned names. I grew a fondness for cognitive neuroscience and statistics, which have a very unfavorable reputation amongst my peers.

Growth through work experience

Aside from this, Year 2 also included opportunities for some work experience. I mentored Year 6 children on character strengths such as resilience, self-control, fairness, and more. This was part of the short work placement unit. There were good and bad days, but in the end, I am proud of the difference I made.

Recalling my first year, I realise that I also wanted to work in the field of clinical psychology, just like the other students from my cohort. That soon changed when I began my placement at a drug and alcohol service as part of the placement year. The atmosphere and environment felt comfortable, a place that anyone could fit into. I’ve had great personal growth. For instance, I feel a level of confidence that I had not felt before.

Supportive environment

From being a very shy and introverted individual, whose biggest nightmare would be to make conversation with people, I am now a psychologist support worker whose job entails a great deal of conversing with clients. This opportunity was given through The University of Manchester, for which I will always be grateful. I have developed valuable skills that will help me in the future in any field of psychology.

Being a student at The University of Manchester means having all the support a student needs to be prepared for the future ahead. All of the valuable experiences that I have had were through university schemes. In my three years as a student here, I grew a surprising interest in statistics and not so surprising interest in cognitive neuroscience, developed new skills, mentored children, and made a humble attempt to help those struggling with addiction.

Discover more about studying Psychology at The University of Manchester.


Leave a comment