My tips for applying to the BDS Dentistry course at Manchester

Anna-Maria Sturki is a Year 4 BDS Dentistry student. Here, she discusses her experience of applying for the Manchester course, and gives advice to other prospective applicants.

Make your application competitive

The first and most important advice when it comes to applying is to make sure you are maximising your chances by applying strategically.

The best way to do this is to research the entry requirements to double check you meet them all. If there is even one requirement you do not meet, I would advise selecting an alternative university where you’d have a better possibility of securing an interview.

A photo of Whitworth Hall.

I applied to the following universities: Bristol, Sheffield, King’s College, Queen Mary (for dental hygiene and therapy) and, of course, Manchester.

I initially wanted one of my choices to be Birmingham, but through an open day talk, I learnt that I did not meet the requirement of receiving an 8 for my GCSE chemistry result, since I had received a 7. This allowed me to remove Birmingham from my potential list and double check the requirements for all my applications before submission, helping to maximise my chances.

In my experience, Manchester really likes to see an all-round student who can focus on their studies, but also have a good work-life balance by getting involved in extra-curricular activities such as joining societies, assigning time to hobbies, and volunteering.

I would recommend mentioning some hobbies or volunteering you have done, or still do, and reflect on how these personal experiences will allow you to succeed in your dental career.

Making the most of your work experience

When asked about your work experience at your interviews, I would recommend reflecting on what you learnt from the experience, not just what you saw. For instance, observing the dentist throughout the day allowed you to gain a realistic understanding of dental career.

Being able to show your understanding of the positives, but also, if asked, to be aware of some of the negative aspects of dentistry such as high stress levels and back pain, will be useful to demonstrate that, despite recognising the career can be difficult in some ways, you are still determined to pursue this path and not be discouraged.

Through this, you could also discuss how your skills can allow you to succeed in your dentistry career. This could range from communication skills, which you may have refined through volunteering, to your methods of managing stress and using it to motivate you, whether this is through reading, going to the gym, sports, or any experience outside of your education.

The interview

My top tips for the interview day are to get plenty of rest the night before, and to have a good breakfast and stay hydrated.

Whether it’s an online or on-campus interview, the multiple mini interview (MMI) structure is the same. When you are in one station, give your best. Even if you feel like it hasn’t gone so well, this may not be case, so try not to think about it once it’s over, and focus on the next station.

Each station is different, and the next interviewer does not know what you have said or the mark you were awarded in the previous station, so use each station as a blank slate to show your best self.

Be honest and be your true self – avoid giving generic and rehearsed answers. If you don’t understand the question, don’t hesitate to ask the interviewer to repeat it.

The interviewers are not trying to catch you out. Allow yourself a moment to think; you don’t always have to rush to give an answer.

Navigating campus

Specific to the on-campus interviews, there are two locations that they could be held in: Whitworth Hall or the Stopford Building.

Manchester is a big city, and we have a big campus. Now that I have been here for nearly four years, it feels smaller, but as a college student who may have not been to the city or campus before, it can be difficult to find your way around.

This was one of my struggles, so I want to make sure other applicants don’t face this challenge. The day of my interview was the first time I set foot on campus; since it was a long way from home, I couldn’t attend any open days. The images here may help you identify how the building entrances look. I would also recommend using the interactive campus map.

After the interview

My last and most important tip for applicants is to look after yourself and your mental health. Yes, this process is challenging, but your health is important. Praise yourself for coming this far.

After the interview, spend the rest of that day doing something you love. Little things to keep your mind relaxed go a long way.

Learn more about the application process for BDS Dentistry.


Leave a comment