Studying clinical immunology as an international postgraduate student

Abel Girma is a researcher and clinician from Ethiopia, who recently graduated from the MSc in Clinical Immunology at Manchester, supported by an Equity and Merit Scholarship. Here, Abel talks about the Manchester experience, and his ambitions for the future.

My journey with The University of Manchester and the Equity and Merit Scholarship programme began approximately two years ago, when I was exploring opportunities for my postgraduate studies.

Abel Girma.

At that time, I was working as a researcher and a clinician in Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia. The master’s in Clinical Immunology caught my attention as it aligned perfectly with my career aspirations.

However, being from a developing country with limited financial means, affording to study at Manchester seemed impossible. Fortunately, I came across the generous support provided by the Equity and Merit Scholarship programme from a promotion posted on the University’s website.

Studying on the MSc

Fast forward to today, I have graduated from the course of my dreams with distinction, achieving an 88% grade for my master’s dissertation project, an achievement that fills me with pride.

Over the course of the one-year master’s, I gained in-depth knowledge about the human immune system, keeping myself updated on the latest advancements in diagnosing and managing diseases that impact the immune system.

I also developed a profound understanding of the immune system’s role in various health conditions. In addition, the course equipped me with advanced research skills, including the application of cutting-edge technologies, like machine learning, in medical research.

What I got from my master’s

Looking back on my time in Manchester and the UK in general, I can only describe it as a brief yet profoundly enriching journey that extended far beyond academic realms.

Among the many cherished memories, the moments spent with friends in Manchester and the unforgettable Thursday evening walks organised by the International Society hold a special place, providing me with a unique perspective on the city.

The 24-hour facilities offered by the University, such as the Alan Gilbert Learning Commons, have been particularly beneficial, allowing me to study at my convenience.

Plans for the future

Moving forward, my dedication lies in utilising the knowledge and skills gained during my tenure in Manchester to create a significant impact in the field of medicine, specifically in Ethiopia.

I aspire to advance my clinical academic career through internal medicine training, seamlessly integrating clinical practice with medical research. My focus will be on engaging in research pertaining to diseases affecting the immune system, with a goal of enhancing healthcare and treatment strategies, ensuring each patient receives meticulous and personalised care.

Learn more about studying postgraduate medicine at Manchester.


Leave a comment