How I switched from mainstream teaching to qualifying as a Teacher of a Deaf

Sara is a Teacher of the Deaf who took the MSc Deaf Education course at Manchester after a stint as a mainstream teacher. Here, she talks about how the course helped her make the switch to a new and fulfilling career.

A photo of Sara Marais.Despite working as a mainstream teacher for 15 years, I never knew such a job as a Teacher of the Deaf existed – until I had a chat with a mum at the school gates who worked in the Shropshire and Telford Sensory Inclusion Team.

It sounded like a fascinating job and, after two years debating if I could go back to studying at the age of 44 and with 3 children, I decided to give it a go.

Studying on the MSc Deaf Education

At first, I felt quite out of my depth as many people on my course were already in positions as Teachers of the Deaf. I felt like they were streets ahead of me, but this only made me work harder, and I was even more determined to catch up and keep up.

There were challenges as I was self-funding, although I was fortunate to receive a bursary in Year 1, which covered some of my tuition fees. Knowing I had a four-week placement in both years of study, I had to find flexible teaching work to fit around this.

Additionally, I found I put in many more hours than I had first expected, but I was enjoying the reading and critical thinking, and doing well.

My first assignment was a mediocre grade, as I hadn’t written an essay for over 20 years, but with the guidance and reassurance of Helen Chilton and Lindsey Jones, each one of my assignment grades improved.

The reading was lengthy, but it was interesting. I studied as a distance learner and it worked well for me to study when it suited me, mostly late into the night after my children were in bed.

Making progress

During the second year, I felt much more confident and, as I had received a bursary, I put myself down as a student rep. I had never done anything like this before, and I felt I had pushed myself out of my comfort zone once more.

I really looked forward to coming to Manchester for the study weekends. I had studied at Manchester Metropolitan University as an undergraduate when I was 18, and enjoyed reminiscing and sharing a meal and a few drinks in pop-up bars on Oxford Road. The other students on my course came from every corner of the UK, and we soon became friends. I felt we became a close and supportive group.

The most challenging part of the second year was passing BSL Level 1. I underestimated how long it would take me, and I should have started it earlier!

Reaching the finish line

I am proud to now be a Teacher of the Deaf. My confidence soared during my studies. Our lecturers were very inspirational, and I felt part of something special. Graduation day for me was euphoric. A culmination of all the hours and hard work I had put in, and the honour of being part of this university. The ceremony was grand and rousing, and Helen Chilton and Lindsey Jones joined us for our special day. I felt proud and excited, and twinged with sadness at finishing!

However, the icing on the cake was being asked to present my Policy and Practice presentation at BATOD North! Five months after graduation, I arrived late after work to Huddersfield with a friend from the course. It was my first time at a BATOD conference. We were both nervous but the friendliness, the support, excitement and encouragement were infectious. Both our talks were so well received, and we had a fabulous time.

Learn more about studying deaf education at Manchester.


Leave a comment