A week in my life: MSc Bioinformatics and Systems Biology

As an international student from India, Harsini is currently pursuing an MSc in Bioinformatics and Systems Biology. Here she takes us through a typical week in her university life, sharing insights into how she manages to strike a balance between a pressing project report, as well as a job and social life.

MondayLaptop on study desk

It’s the week before the deadline for my project report. I woke up a little earlier than usual so that I could cook breakfast quickly and get out of the cleaner’s way. I headed over to the Alan Gilbert Learning Commons (AGLC) right after.

Pro tip: go early, at least before 10:00 am if you want to find an empty seat or a computer to use.

I had some data to analyse before I could start wrapping up my report. I also signed up for a workshop at the library for proofreading tips. I figured it might help with the final report. I spent the rest of the day analysing my data and drafting up some relevant graphs to use as figures (I must confess here, I did spend the majority of it just playing with different colour schemes).

Tuesday

I had a work shift in the afternoon, so I decided to work from my room instead of the library so I wouldn’t have to carry my laptop to work. After video-calling my parents, I wrapped up the loose ends of my results section to send it to my supervisor with the data analysed yesterday, including the pretty plots I made.

I spent the afternoon working as a student ambassador at the international office and stopped by the grocery store to pick up a few things for dinner with my flatmates. We are squeezing in a movie night before we all get too busy. After laughing ourselves into a stomach ache, I checked my emails for some important replies I was waiting for and called it a night.Movie night

Wednesday

I scurried to AGLC for that perfect spot with a computer, a nice chair, and ample sunlight to work on my discussion section and revise my methods section. It is during these sessions that I almost always discover a new song that I end up playing on repeat all day, probably all week.

I tend to have my hall executive team meetings on Wednesday afternoons. As event representatives for the university halls of residence, we are currently working on a masquerade-themed ball for our hall. I was responsible for arranging a photo booth and a 360 camera at the event. Luckily, I got replies to my inquiries about the quote for the equipment the night before, and after a discussion with the team, we approved the purchase.

I finally decided to start on the dreaded quality assessment of the studies included in my systematic review and trudge on with it all night. In the end, I quickly gave up; it is a problem for future-me now.

Thursday

My supervisor emailed me a few comments on the results section, so I jumped to edit them immediately given that the deadline is fast approaching. We have a six-figure limit, so he helped me arrange the results to fit them all. I obsessed over them for a while longer before I continued with my discussion section. Though not entirely satisfied, I sent my supervisor a draft hoping he could help bring some clarity.Student laundry area

I took a break from the report hoping to return to it with a fresh perspective later and decided to tackle my laundry. It has grown into a pile of clothes that has rotated from the bed to the chair and back to the bed again. It also gave me just enough time between the washing, drying, and folding to catch up on my web series and Netflix.

I cleaned my room up a little, just enough to declutter my mind, which helped me edit my introduction section. It was also a little tiring, which helped me catch up on some sleep and make peace with a not-so-productive day.

Friday

The day started with an early Zoom meeting with my supervisor with some final comments before the submission. These meetings always leave me feeling organised and optimistic about the research project. It is a completely new area for me, and my supervisor has been a great help in navigating it.

I worked on the dissertation until the weekly social at the international society that afternoon. It usually involves hot drinks, games, and a new face. I took the long way back home just to enjoy the sun that had peeked from behind the clouds before heading back to my room. I allow myself Friday evenings to pray and meditate before tackling the report again. It did get interrupted by a gossip session with friends but I still got most of my work for the day completed.

Saturday

Saturdays usually start with my shifts at the Manchester Museum. I am currently a volunteer at the museum where I get to welcome and guide visitors, especially helping with directions.Manchester Museum's dinosaur

The question I get the most is, “Where are the dinosaurs?” and “Where are the toilets?”, mostly from parents juggling eager and energetic kids.

If you ever come to the museum, here’s a tip as the map is a bit tricky to read: you must go up the stairs to the first floor, across Egypt and Sudan gallery, cross a glass bridge and head down to the Fossils and Dinosaurs gallery (you see, it is on the ground floor, just of another building).

I always return with a smile from the museum as the little kids’ excitement and the parents’ endurance are infectious.

After working on the format of the report, focusing on the little things that I might forget if I were to leave them until the last minute, and vacuuming the room, I took a break and had a listening party. A couple of my favourite artists had dropped new albums and singles, so I dedicated a little time to fangirl.

SundayFeet on grass

Spring has finally arrived. And I suspect it will be whisked away immediately, so I wasted no time and planned to spend the day outside instead. My flatmates and I walked to Platt Fields Park and took the mandatory cherry blossoms picture and even played in the grass.

On the way back, we did some grocery shopping for a lavish spread of lunch, mostly to have some leftovers during the week. Sunday also allows me to plan the next week, at least in my bullet journal, and just hope it all goes according to plan. However, I must admit the best part of the university and living abroad by yourself is that every week is different, and you never really have complete control over what your days look like. Just keep swimming!

Read Harsini’s previous blog on her tips for starting your first semester at university.

 

 


3 thoughts on “A week in my life: MSc Bioinformatics and Systems Biology

Leave a comment